Monmouth County Criminal Assault Attorney
Our Monmouth County Criminal Attorneys know that an assault charge can happenfrom a bar fight, a disagreement with a neighbor, and many other confrontational situations that we face in everyday life. If you’ve been arrested for assault, our attorneyshave most likely dealt with a similar assault case, and know what a difficult time you are going through. Our goal is to handle your case with professionalism and get the best results for you!
New Jersey Law treats assault crimes seriously and our firm realizes the severity of these types of criminal charges. Charges for these types of crimes can have significant penalties and consequences without legal representation. Calling the firm of Riviere Advocacy Group LLC early on in your case will help preserve your legal rights, as well as, insure that our attorneys are there to assist from the cases inception.
Why is early intervention by one of our attorneys important?
Because our defense strategy, which begins from the time that you retain our services, can often significantly reduce or eliminate the risk of serious criminal penalties and sentences.
Common charges for assault include:
- Simple Assault
- Assault and Battery
- Domestic Assault
- Aggravated Assault
- Assault with a Vehicle or Deadly Weapon
If you have been charged with any of these types of assault in Monmouth County or throughout New Jersey, contact our firm for a free consultation. Our team of Ocean County criminal defense attorneys will listen to your side of the story.
From there we will develop a criminal defense strategy to maintain your liberty.
If you have been charged with any of these types of assault in Monmouth County or throughout New Jersey, call the Criminal Assault Attorneys at
Riviere Advocacy Group (732)-646-5529
Simple Assault a previously described Simple Assault is a lesser offense considered a disorderly persons offense, which has a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a $1000 fine.
Aggravated Assault can range in degree of the felony charge that you may face, however the most serious a 2nd Degree Crime, with a maximum penalty of up to 10 years in state prison.
Assault by Auto is generally charged as a 4th Degree crime where a serious injury occurs, and a disorderly person’s offense if a less serious bodily injury. A 4th degree crime can carry a penalty of 18 months in prison and fines of up to $10,000. A disorderly person’s offense can carry a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a $1000 fine.
Possible Assault Defense Strategies
There are numerous different legal defense strategies possible defend an assault charge.
We have named a few below to give you a reference of some of the possibilities.
If some else threw the first punch or attacked you first, then self-defense may be a viable defense to an assault charge. Many fights occur where an argument turns from the words “bring it on” to physical. The police frequently aren’t in a position to tell who threw the first punch. To often they will arrest both parties, or they arrest the person who has the least bruises to show for, despite how the fight actually took place.
Our firm can argue certain affirmative defense such as: that you committed an assault to avoid the other person from harming you or someone else. Perhaps the other person provoked the fight. Our firm can also argue it was necessary for you to physically intervene for the purpose of preventing a the other person from stealing property, or committing other thefts or criminal acts.
If there is a fight or altercation involving a crowd of people, it may be hard for the police to decipher who was involved, and who was a bystander trying to stay out of the way and avoid injury.
threat of injury has to be believable; The alleged victim has to have a valid fear of injury. If the alleged victim wasn’t actually worried about his/her welfare, and instead tried to get you arrested for other reasons, like revenge, or domestic or family court leverage, then the charges should be dropped or dismissed.
No fight, disagreement, or argument is the same. Therefore each assault case has its own set of facts. It is important to speak criminal defense lawyer from Riviere Advocacy Group as soon as possible, to evaluate your case and determine your defense strategy to beat an assault charge in court.
Our firm offers a free legal consultation on your assault, battery, domestic assault, or any other charges that you may face. We will consult you by phone or in person. We are here for you in your time of need and stress. The consultation will advise you of what your rights and potential outcomes are.