Our Monmouth County drunk driving attorneys know that a DWI can lead to major consequences and can lead to a loss of your driving privileges.
Seeing those lights flashing behind you is an all too common feeling of anxiety. Sometimes it leads to major consequences and can lead to a loss of your driving privileges.

Receive Your Free Consultation Today!

Call us Now

(732)-646-5529

Get Started

If you are experiencing a problem with your driving privileges due to a recent driving infraction to include DWI, speeding, etc., our firm can help you maintain those privileges; we can help restore those same privileges.

Driving While Intoxicated and/or Under the Influence

In New Jersey, a person with a BAC of 0.08% or greater who operates a motor vehicle or a boat is considered to be driving under the influence (DWI). Being convicted of a DWI is a serious offense, carrying heavy penalties including:

  • Fines, fees and surcharges
  • Jail time
  • Community service
Many people just assume that if I’m drunk I’m sunk. Do not assume that there is nothing that can be done to defend a DWI or a traffic ticket.
A common reaction is: what can an attorney do for me? The consultation is free, so why not inquire and find out.

You’re not the first person to make this mistake. The important thing is to keep your cool and get good legal representation.

Here at the Riviere Advocacy Group LLC we can advise you legally and formulate a defense to your DWI charge. The only scientific way to determine whether a driver is under the influence is through blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Your BAC can be tested with a simple Breathalyzer test.

Alcohol or drug related DWI with BAC of 0.10% or greater
License loss Fines, fees & surcharges Prison term Community service requirement
7 months – 1 year $300-$500 fine $230 IDRC* fee $100 to drunk driving fund $100 to AERF* $1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund. Possible Ignition interlock device Up to 30 days 12-48 hours IDRC*
Alcohol or drug related DWI with BAC greater than 0.08% but less than 0.10%
License loss Fines, fees & surcharges Prison term Community service requirement
3 months $250-$400 fine $230 IDRC* fee $100 to drunk driving fund $100 to AERF* $1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund Up to 30 days 12-48 hours IDRC*
Repeated DWI convictions
Offense License loss Fines, fees & surcharges Prison term Community service requirement
2nd offense within 10 years 2 years $500-$1,000 fine $280 IDRC* fee $100 to drunk driving fund $100 to AERF* $1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund. Ignition interlock device is installed for one to three years. 48 hours- 90 days 30 days and 12-48 hours IDRC*
3rd offense within 10 years of 2nd offense 10 years $1,000 fine $280 IDRC* fee $100 to drunk driving fund $100 to AERF* $1,500/year (for 3 years) surcharge $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund. Ignition interlock device is installed upon license restoration. 180 days Up to 90 days (can reduce period of imprisonment) and 12-48 hours IDRC*

Related Offenses

Driving or riding with an open container
Offense Fines Community service
1st $200
2nd $250 10 days
Driving with a DWI suspension
License loss Fines or surcharges Prison term
Additional 1-2 years $500 fine $250/year (for 3 years) surcharge 10-90 days
Driving while possessing drugs
License loss Fines or surcharges
2 years Minimum $50 fine
The Breathalyzer tests in New Jersey are not always correct and sometimes make mistakes just like human beings. In fact the police administering the Breathalyzers also make mistakes. Call our firm today and we will investigate all possible mistakes that may have been made in processing your DWI/DUI charge. Our firm will examine all records that we obtain through discovery, carefully examining if there was proof of intoxication and whether the blood or breath test was accurate. If you refused the Breathalyzer, we will explain how that affects your driving record.
Failure to pay DWI/DUI surcharges will result in
  • Indefinite suspension of driving privileges
  • Action filed in State Superior Court by MVC. This may include securing a lien against your property, garnishing your wages or other similar action

For more information please see the link below:
http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Violations/penalties.htm

Notes:

  • *IDRC – Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • *AERF – Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • Underage drinking may cause a six-month delay in getting a license
  • Alcohol and drug-related offenses require completion of an alcohol screening and evaluation program
If you are charged with DWI in Freehold, Red Bank, Wall, Long Branch, Marlboro, Manalapan, Howell, Jackson, Brick Township, Holmdel, Middletown, Atlantic Highlands, Aberdeen, Toms River, Manahawkin, East Brunswick, Monroe Township, Cranbury, Hamilton, Robbinsville, Millstone, Manasquan, Lakewood, Eatontown, West Long Branch, Tinton Falls, Ocean Township, Neptune, Spring Lake, Ocean Township or Asbury Park, call out firm today and lawyer up!