Disorderly Conduct Crimes Attorney in New Jersey
States and municipalities have many laws so that they can the limit what people can do. As a result, it keeps communities running smoothly and peacefully. Sometimes people engage in activities that lead to some sort of non-peaceful event. This activity is referred to as disorderly conduct. A disorderly conduct attorney can help you in this case.
Disorderly conduct charges are common. In addition, it is one of the most commonly filed criminal charges. Disorderly conduct may seem like a minor charge. However it can have serious issue on a person’s life. Request a free consultation.
What can I expect to result from a Disorderly Conduct charge?
Municipal courts handle Disorderly Conduct charges. They have jurisdiction over a Disorderly Persons charge. However, if the Disorderly Persons charge is charged with other offenses, then the superior county court handles this. If you have these charges in Jackson Township Municipal Court or another court of similar jurisdiction, contact us today! Ask your queries and get right advice.
Few of the disorderly criminal charges
- Property theft or mischief less than $200 in damages or loss (NJSA 2C :17-3)
- Simple Assault; both parties were willingly fighting each other (NJSA 2C: 12-1)
- Shop lifting of more than $2 but less than $200 (NJSA 2C: 20-11c(4)
- Possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana (NJSA 2C 5-10(a)(4))
Disorderly conduct laws differ among states and municipalities. That’s why hiring a local attorney in this case is beneficial. If you have disorderly conduct crime charges against you, then contact one of our attorneys in your area. An attorney who has experience with the local courts and police can provide you with sound legal advice. Talk to us now!
Our network of attorneys handle every type of disorderly conduct case. We have handled many cases where the original criminal Disorderly Conduct charge is amended to a Municipal Ordinance. In other cases the Disorderly Conduct charges have been flat out dismissed. We have helped many people for such cases. Similarly we can do the same for you. Call our criminal attorney today. We will protect your legal rights. Give us a call at (732)-646-5529
Didn’t find what you are looking for? Feel free to contact us.
- Fines range from 0 to $1000
- VCCB Assessment $50
- Safe Neighborhood Assessment $75
- Court Costs $33
- Jail Term $33
- Restitution to victim
If the case is amended to a conviction under the ordinance (a guilty plea is a conviction); the conviction will not appear in New Jersey’s criminal database. Of course the arrest will still be there if you were charged under the New Jersey Criminal Code 2C:33-2, but the conviction will not. Why is this? Because NJ’s criminal database doesn’t recognize all of the municipal ordinances and therefore cannot record the municipal infraction. Furthermore, if you were only charged with a municipal ordinance, the arrest may not be reflected on your record either. The distinguishing factors between an ordinance and a criminal charge also apply to answering questions for employment purposes i.e. If an employer asks if you were convicted of a “crime”, you can answer “no”. If they ask if you were ever arrested for or convicted of an “offense” you would have to answer “yes”. Finally, for expungement purposes if the conviction is an ordinance it can be expunged from your record after two years, if it is a 2C conviction you will have to wait 5 years.
- Engages in fighting or threatening, or in violent or tumultuous behavior; or
- Creates a hazardous or physically dangerous condition by any act which serves no legitimate purpose of the actor.