Driving Without Insurance Law

Car insurance Law

Motor vehicle insurance is important to carry with you in almost all states. As per N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2, drivers must purchase a certain level of insurance from an insurance company. Otherwise motor vehicle law does not allow one to lawfully operate a vehicle. Motor vehicle insurance law varies in every state. There are many exceptions in every state law. So a local attorney who has knowledge of state laws can guide you. If the authorities catch you while driving without insurance, then call us now. Talk to our traffic lawyer for best advice.

Penalty for driving vehicle without insurance

As the laws vary in every state so penalties also vary. In New Jersey, you can have below type of penalties if you drive vehicle without insurance.

First offense: $300 to $1,000 fine, community service and lose of the right to operate a motor vehicle for one year

Subsequent Offenses: 14 days in jail and lose of right to operate motor vehicle for two years, up to $5,000 fine.

Receive Your Free Consultation Today!

Call us Now


Get Started

Driving Without Insurance Law. As per N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2, an individual is subject to stiff penalties if convicted of driving without insurance. The law applies to both “owners” and “operators” of uninsured motor vehicles. It prohibits an owner from operating or causing his vehicle to be operated without motor vehicle insurance in effect. Under N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2, it is also illegal for an “operator” to operate a motor vehicle when he/she knows or reasonably should know that the motor vehicle is uninsured.


The law says “owner or registrant,” of a motor vehicle,” “registered or principally garaged,” who knew or should have known by the attendant circumstances.”

One defense is to prove by evidence that even though you were the operator, someone else is the owner of motor vehicle. In that case, you can tell a judge that you were unaware of vehicle not having insurance.

If your insurance company cancel your coverage without your knowledge, the state must prove that it was lawfully cancelled. In addition, it must prove that the actual notice of cancellation sent to you. If the cancellation was not lawful or without written notice then a judge can refuse the case. In addition, you will not get any penalties. Talk to us now!

A first time conviction of driving without insurance, results in fines between $300 and $1,000, community service, and a one year suspension of the your driver’s license.
Your exposure to penalty increases for a second, third or subsequent offenses of driving while uninsured. Upon conviction of a 2nd offense you will be fined up to $5,000, have to perform 30 days of community service, serve 14 days in jail, and your driver’s license will be suspended for two years.
The state of New Jersey imposes mandatory surcharges you operates a vehicle in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2. Additionally, insurers impose a separate penalty or surcharge on motor vehicle policies when there is a lapse in coverage.

If you have charges of driving without insurance contact us today. We will be happy to assist you in any way.